Image for english-0 page

English

Welcome to Paradise Valley Community College’s English Division Webpage. 

The English Division provides a wide range of courses in Composition, Literature, Reading, English as a Second Language (ESL), Creative Writing (CRW), Developmental Reading/Writing, and Journalism/New Media Studies. Inside this webpage you will find information regarding our courses and programs as well as useful resources.

Our classes are scheduled to provide flexibility and to accommodate various learning styles.  Courses are available at PVCC Main, PVCC Black Mountain and online. They are offered during the day and at night and in both in-person and online formats.

We hope you find this Web site useful and look forward seeing you in our courses.

Departments:

Mission Statement:

The mission of Paradise Valley Community College's English Division is to develop articulate, informed citizens who are committed to language and literature as well as critical reading and thinking as a means of understanding a variety of perspectives about life.  This purpose is accomplished through academic classes and programs in which the learners are encouraged to express themselves effectively in writing and grow intellectually and morally into humane, responsible, and productive members of our community.

Objectives:

  • To develop and enhance our students’ ability to think, read, and write critically about language and literature.

  • To develop a conscious awareness of what is valuable in the critique and revision aspects of the reading and writing process.

  • To develop a personal sense of aesthetics as it relates to language and the great works of literature.

Special Programs

Contact Us

Location: M Building
Phone: 602-787-6560
Monday - Friday 6:30am-3:30pm

To view a list of faculty click on the Staff heading below.

Staff

Sheila Beeler
Reading
sheila.beeler@paradisevalley.edu
M292
602-787-6949

Marianne Botos
English / Eng Humanities
marianne.botos@paradisevalley.edu
M278
602-787.6558

Renee Cornell
English
renee.cornell@paradisevalley.edu
M189
602-787-6566

Judy Galbraith
English / Journalism
judy.galbraith@paradisevalley.edu
M287
602-787-6772

Leonard Macias
English
leonard.macias@paradisevalley.edu
M265
602-787-6702

Lynn McClelland
English
lynn.mcclelland@paradisevalley.edu
M279
602-787-6623

Div. Chair:

Michael Mitchell
English / Eng Humanities
michael.mitchell@paradisevalley.edu
M269
602-787-7289

Pamela Osback
English
pamela.osback@paradisevalley.edu
M277
602-787-6667

Leila Palis
English/ESL
leila.palis@paradisevalley.edu
M186
602-787-6748

Andy Peevey
English / ESL
andy.peevey@paradisevalley.edu
M289
602-787-6581

Dr. David Pegram
English
david.pegram@paradisevalley.edu
M281
602.787.6855

Dr. Stephanie Polliard
ENG/ENG HUMANITIES
stephanie.polliard@paradisevalley.edu
M272
602.787.6584

Stacey Rannik
English / Eng Humanities
stacey.rannik@paradisevalley.edu
M280
602-787-7729

Ryan Stone
Creative Writing/English
M168
602-787-6962
ryan.stone@paradisevalley.edu

Christine Tabone
English
christine.tabone@paradisevalley.edu
M184
602-787-6798

Amy Woodbeck
Reading
amy.woodbeck@paradisevalley.edu
M293
602.787.6574

Nandini Ramakrishna
Reading
nandini.ramakrishna@paradisevalley.edu
M193
602.787.6961

Administrative Secretary:

June Hawkins
june.hawkins@paradisevalley.edu
M261
602-787-6561

The college of you.