Image for counseling-0 page

Information for Faculty and Staff

Faculty and Staff have frequent and meaningful contact with our students.

You are likely to be in contact with students who would benefit from counseling either for

Normal, healthy, developmental growth
More serious psychological problems.

On this page you will find a summary of services and recommendations for referring students for counseling. Do not hesitate to phone us with any specific questions. We are grateful for your role in helping students make use of our services.

Disruptive Student Manual

Download
Disruptive Student Manual

Referral Guidelines for Faculty
Specific information on when and how to refer students to Counseling.

Study Skills Counseling
Individual help with time management, note-taking, test-taking, and other study skills; also group workshops on study skills topics.

 
 
 
 
 
 
Consultations

A consultation may help you sort out your concerns about a student's personal difficulties; discuss whether and/or how to refer the student to the Counseling Center; explore alternative approaches; and manage emergencies.

If this is the case:

Tell the student you wish to consult with Counseling.
NOTE: Due to FERPA laws, no information may be given to parents, faculty, or staff without student’s permission

Services Offered: 

Personal Counseling
Crisis Management
Career Exploration and Development

Counseling is Provided:
Free
Confidential
Private

 

 

If necessary, off-campus service referrals, such as psychiatrists (i.e., evaluations, medications, long-term therapy, can be made.
Male and female counselors available

Typical concerns discussed in Individual Counseling include:
Stress
Anxiety
Depression
Relationship Concerns
Trauma
Eating Disorders
Bereavement, Loss
Family concerns
Loss of motivation
Substance abuse
Contact Us

Location: KSC Building
Phone: 602-787-6540
Fax: 602-787-6545
email: counseling@paradisevalley.edu

Mon-Thurs 8:00am-6:30pm
Friday 8:00am - 4:00pm

Academic Advising:
Phone: 602-787-7060
email: advising@paradisevalley.edu

Staff

Division Chair:

Dr. James Rubin
james.rubin@paradisevalley.edu
602-787-6540

Counselors:

Marianne Auten
marianne.auten@paradisevalley.edu
602-787‒6551

Diane Chapman
diane.chapman@paradisevalley.edu
602-787‒7159

Cathy Mendoza
cathy.mendoza@paradisevalley.edu
602-787‒7998

Donna Mosher
donna.mosher@paradisevalley.edu
602-787‒6543

Sylvia Piceno
sylvia.piceno@paradisevalley.edu
602-787–7159

Marianne Roccaforte
marianne.roccaforte@paradisevalley.edu
602-787‒7158



Office Coordinator:

Terry Adriance
terry.adriance@paradisevalley.edu
602-787-6541


Receptionist:

Martha Gould
Martha.gould@paradisevalley.edu
602-787-6540

Fall 14 Class Preview.The college of you.